Lifestyle

Best Kohl at a Super Affordable Price

kohl review
Yellow Stick- Maybelline Colossal Kajal, Red Stick- Faces Magneteyes kajal , Black Stick- Lakme eyeconic kajal

The one ‘For sure’ makeup item that you can find in every Indian girls’ makeup bag is a Kohl stick. Whether  you decide to go dramatic as Alia in the Maybelline ads or you decide to add a pop of colour to your eyes following Kareena from the Lakme ads, this 0.35 g of product has entered our lives and are never finding an exit any time soon.

Over the years I have had my fair share of Kohl sticks that  I have tried before I currently have settled on one that works for me (budget wise and staying power). Take your time to find your soulmate in this wide collection presented to us by the universe.

For the purposes of this article I will be considering three different brands which are in the similar price range, Rs. 200. (there are loads more out there with long lasting powers, but as said earlier, these are the ones I found worked well within my budget)

Maybelline the Colossal Kajal: Rs 170-200/-

This product brought in a whole new game to my kohl routine when I first tried it in my 11th grade. Until then I was using the Himalayas natural kajal (I dont know the name), but that product would bleed literally seconds after application.
Maybelline, on the other hand stayed much longer, had much intense black and did not smudge as much as my earlier choice.
Although, it says 10hr smudge proof, to me it does not last that long. Keep in mind that this will change on the humidity of the place you are in and most definitely on ones skin oils. I have a combination type of skin and I stay in a very hot place, so with all these factors working against me, there is only so much that the product can hold up to.
Another factor I would say that it does not hold upto is, although it is intense black; you do require a couple of swipes back and forth to get the desired intense black.
Maybelline has recently launched another improved version of the kohl which I am yet to try.
Overall, Maybelline is a good go.

Faces Magneteyes Kajal : Rs 175/-

The Faces Kohl stick was the most raved on the blogs that I read claiming it to be the cheapest in the category with amazing results. This product is a little more difficult to get your hands on, in comparison to the other two mentioned in this post. This is available only in stores that specifically sells Faces products.
Packing wise, this was like my favorite as it had a red twisty tube. The product is also less expensive when compared to the other two.
The intensity of the Kohl, was the about two to three swipes to get the desired colour. This product produced much better staying results than the Maybelline, without a doubt.

Lakme Eyeconic kajal: Rs 210/-

To me Lakme is the best buy of the three. A little back story here, the first time I ever bought a Lakme Kohl, I lost it within a week. So in my sane mind I decided that Lakme hated me and didnt want to stay with me. So stuck with Maybelline for a long time until I decided that it was time for a change. This time lakme stuck with me for real. Theres no going back. The staying power is much more than the other two and intensity, as far as I remember is also much better. Also Lakme is not so creamy that it will bleed off.
For sure though Lakme is the more expensive of the three, but with a margin of a difference. Its just so good, its worth the extra few tens. What I tend to do is try to grab as many when its on offer or so.

All of these are extremely affordable for the college going gal.

Keep Smiling Always

Amanda

 

2 thoughts on “Best Kohl at a Super Affordable Price

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this put up and if I could I desire to suggest
    you few interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write subsequent
    articles referring to this article. I wish to learn more issues about it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

