Lifestyle

Baking day

 

image

For a long time I sat in front of my laptop watching baking videos hoping that someday I would be able to bake some cake. Baking videos relaxed me and they do not tend to the usual hustle and bustle that goes on in the kitchen. My only other experience with baking was on a vacation trip to my cousins house, we decided to bake some cupcakes and they came out good considering it was the first time either of us doing it. In fact we used a microwave I guess, not too sure about that. even with the few mishaps that happened the major one being we used salted butter instead of unsalted, the cakes turned out cute.

This summer I wanted to do some baking. The only thing that was holding me back was that I guess I was a little nervous. In my family I can clearly say that I am the only one who in more interested in baking but at the same time the one who is always afraid to take a few risks. Especially when the experience involves money and heat. So I just never went into trying my hand at baking.

Last month my college-mate and founder of Pastry mania had a couple of workshops for basic baking. Every week she conducted one, I was busy exactly on that particular day. Just my luck. I couldn’t do much apart from cancel. Tuesday 14th June was finally the date when I was able to attend. She was so kind that she offered to pick and drop me since I had no transport in the direction of her house. So thank you so much for that.

So, that day we were five of us were there to do the baking that she was ready to teach us. We made chocolate, vanilla and red-velvet cupcakes and butter cream icing for them. We also learned how to make ganache and with the ganache make chocolate mousse and whipped cream and cream cheese icing for the red velvet. I really loved it. I don’t know how, but it wasn’t crazy and stressful. Everything went without a glitch. Maybe it was because we were with someone experienced, I don’t know. But one thing I am sure of is that, from my past baking experience when we beat eggs, the mixture did not curdle and this time nothing of that happened. And to tell you the truth I think I really enjoy mixing or beating very much.

dsc02072.jpg

There were some other girls who had been there who were thinking on starting a baking stall. I do not have so much expectations at the moment. All I want to do is to be able to bake and maybe bake a couple of cakes for family birthdays. I also kind of told my sister that I would make her wedding cake(lol). But I really hope I could do something like that. It would be such an honour. So I really want to start trying out recipes, something small but something nice.

Lets see where this takes me. I really hope that I can celebrate the art of baking someday.

What are your experiences of baking, have you had disasters? Were they super successful?
Let me know in the comments.

Until next time
Keep smiling always.
Amanda.

2 thoughts on “Baking day

Leave a Reply

